The Lion's Grave: Dispatches from Afghanistan

The Lion's Grave: Dispatches from Afghanistan

By: Jon Lee Anderson

Price: $7.95

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Used - VeryGood



A decade after filing his last reports on the mujahideen's war against the communist-backed government, and a mere two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, Jon Lee Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Anderson stayed in the country for months, filing stories that illuminate a high-technology conflict in a feudal terrain. In The Lion's Grave these reports are supplemented by vivid first-person e-mail accounts that take the reader onto the ground and into the process of reporting the war. Distinguished by Anderson's gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and extraordinary gift for telling a story, The Lion's Grave is war reporting in the tradition of A. J. Liebling and Michael Herr. It captures the war at its pivotal moments and crystallizes the inherent precariousness of Afghanistan's future. It is destined to become a classic.

Title: The Lion's Grave: Dispatches from Afghanistan

Author Name: Jon Lee Anderson

Categories: Middle East History,

Publisher: Grove Pr: November 2002

ISBN Number: 0802117236

ISBN Number 13: 9780802117236

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Used - VeryGood

Seller ID: 360635